A Step Back…and Forward

Hello 🙂

While I have written on a few stories during the first half of the year, I will admit they didn’t get far. Not because I didn’t like them, and not because I wasn’t excited to finish them, but because I was more burned out from so many releases last year than I realized. Claimed by the Wolf  has been the only release this year, and I feel so bad about that for my readers. But, I truly needed to step back and breathe and let the stories come to me when they wanted to. I could not force words onto the page because as excited as I was to write the ideas I had, I was tired.

And that break paid off.

This past Saturday, I wrote a solid 2k on a new story. Then, on Sunday, I wrote more, and today I plan on writing more…after I’ve had dinner 🙂 I’m very excited about this story, and I hope to have it release October/November. The story is set in the Revenant Investigations world, and stars Arabella and Lucas working on an investigation. Just the two of them.

What could our medium and the skeptic be up to this time…

This new story feels like a short story, or a short novella. It’s also the lead-in to a new book with a new character coming to town. The story is meant to be a fun, spooky mystery, and if I had another full day off from work I’d probably get it close to done or completed.

As many of you already know, I write under two pen names. Libby is my romance name. October Weeks is my dark paranormal/horror/dark fantasy pen name. I always have stories going on both sides, and my darker stuff took a front seat because those stories were, and still are, flowing. Now my romance writing is flowing again and I couldn’t be happier!

Sometimes a break can really refresh the well, and I’m glad I took the break. In that time, I also came to the hard realization that some of the series I wanted to continue have to be let alone. I have the first chapter of the sequel of Son of Thunder written, but it won’t be finished. At least, not in the near future. Why? Because Son of Thunder didn’t sell well enough to justify continuing what I was planning on becoming a series. I apologize to those who loved the book- that means the world to me- but I cannot waste energy on a series that isn’t going anywhere right now. I also had plans to write a sequel to An Island Christmas, but that won’t be happening anytime soon, either. I hope to come back to those series at some point, but for now they are on the back burner.

I hope you will all bear with me a little longer and be patient- good things are on the way 🙂 I hope to have news soon!

Leave a Reply

