Lazy Sunday~ Ghost Whisperer

I’m getting behind on my non-writing blogging- shame on me!

Today, I’m having a little Ghost Whisperer marathon (of Season Five) and taking a little break from writing. I’ve made great headway on the novella, as well getting another chapter in on a secret project. If I feel compelled to write, of course I will, but for now I’m just relaxing with the show…and maybe my insomnia-suffering self may get a nap in as well 😀

SOME SPOILERS!!! BE WARNED!!!

ghost-whisperer-season-1-episode-14-now-tv

I’ve enjoyed Ghost Whisperer since the first season. The premise of the show hooked me (no surprise there 🙂 ) and I enjoyed the storylines and cast, even though plotlines moved slightly slower than I thought they should at times.

Screenshot (610)

As much as I liked the first season, it wasn’t until the second season that I really fell in love with the show. The cast and writers seemed to really hit their groove and the show improved so much in that second season.  We started to see glimpses of Melinda’s past, and her interactions with both ghosts and the living affected by them were much better paced and far more emotional. And I loved the addition of Delia and Nate!

ghost-whisperer-season-3-now-tv

I loved season three. It’s one of my favorite seasons out of the five, and the main reason for that is the storylines surrounding Grandview, Melinda’s family connection to it, and Delia and Professor Payne’s meatier storylines. The writers really rounded out the casts’ personal and professional lives and I felt incredibly connected to each one of them.

TEKHwTOSWDpaPK_1_a

ghost-whisperer163

The addition of Eli in season four was a nice touch. It did take me a few episodes to warm to him completely, though. There were parts of season four that I did not like (more on that at the end of this post), but overall it was a nice season…though it wasn’t my favorite.

Screenshot (581)

Screenshot (586) Screenshot (795)

promo-5-season-ghost-whisperer

Ghost_Whisperer_-_Living_Nightmare_004

Season Five is my favorite season of them all. I loved the addition of Aiden and the storylines surrounding him and Melinda. I loved Delia’s and Eli’s plotlines as well. The ghosts got a bit scarier and the depth of Melinda’s gift was shown beautifully. For the most part, I think they closed the show well, though I wasn’t quite ready to say goodbye. I do think the last episode was a tad rushed, considering the build-up that started pretty much in the first episode.

Here come the spoilers!!!

The only issue I had with the show was Jim’s death in Season Four. While I understand that the actor wanted a bigger role, and they wanted to show the depth of Mel and Jim’s devotion to each other, they failed on one big front- they pretty much threw all of that out in Season Five after the first episode. They stopped showing the Jim’s new body, and they even referred to him as Jim in public. So it felt like Jim never died in Season Four and that whole journey back to Melinda was wasted. If they were going to all but ignore his death in Season Five, they shouldn’t have killed him in Season Four. There were plenty of options to chose from besides death to handle that whole situation.

Other than that, the show is still one of my favorites. I have all the seasons on dvd and watch them pretty regularly 🙂 I miss seeing new episodes, though I’m not sure where else they could have taken the characters after that last episode.

So off I go to watch Season Five- currently I’m on Head Over Heels 😀

Leave a Reply

